The sun shines again… ☀️

You know sometimes there’s that moment when to put your foot in the stirrup and you just know how your rides going to go, like a gut feeling? I got that feeling today, like I knew today was going to be different. 


It’s no secret that I’ve been struggling lately, Patrick had been off and that was putting me off and I hadn’t found another horse I could connect with. Last time I rode Patty he threw me off and the last time I saw him we tried to do some ground work which ended with me chasing a crazy bucking horse around a round pen without much success. 

Fast forward four weeks, I hadn’t been able to ride due to an unfortunate series of events, my trainer was away but we went for a ride anyway. Patty seemed good different as soon as I brought him in, he let me pick his hooves with no fuss for the first time in ages. He like most of the lesson horses has gotten fat on Spring grass it was a struggle to get his girth done up! 

We didn’t do anything ground breaking, just flat work in the dressage arena but it just felt different it felt like it used to. Patrick had his spark back and so did I. After I ended up giving him a bath, he loved the massage mitt! He does have some mud fever on his back hooves so hopefully that clears up soon.


Am I the only one who can’t help but notice flaws in their riding photos, I guess it’s a good way to improve though, ahh look at those arms, bend your elbows girl! 

Unfortunately with the sunny weather comes the flies, I spent the afternoon researching fly spray options, most of the ones I found for sale were chocked full of chemicals which doesn’t sit well with me. I just don’t see how it can be good for the horse and me since I always end up with it on me trying to make sure they’re all covered. I found some natural ones that I’m going to look into but lots of people swear by making their own. There are heaps of recipes on Pinterest and online, do you make your own? Or what brand do you swear by? 

Always remember it’s always the darkest before the dawn, things always get better so don’t give up! 

3 thoughts on “The sun shines again… ☀️

  1. I am so happy to see this. Nice photos as well. For fly spray I buy a concentrate with herbals( citronella, thyme etc) and mix it with a bit of water and a lot of apple cider vinegar. It works here in Ontario and also in Florida. Biasini smells like chips but it does work. For a few hours anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

