Sometimes life sucks

I’ve been trying to write this post all week and just can’t get my feelings into words. 

Patrick is not himself, he threw a rider a few weeks ago and we thought it was because his new saddle didn’t fit very well, I know with him being a lesson horse and there being a different staff on the weekends and during the week that some things get overlooked. Anyway I rode him that afternoon in a different saddle and he was fine. He’s seemed a little flat for a few weeks and has started biting other horses in the stable and there’s the thing where he won’t pick his feet up.  

Last week we were just working on some flat work, transitions and stuff and he threw me. I’m talking one minute we were trotting on nicely the next he wanted me off. My trainer says she looked over to see Patrick with all feet of the ground and me being flung. I didn’t hit my head again which I’m grateful for but I did wind myself pretty bad and my elbow begun to to swell before I’d even got of the ground which did take a while. You know when you get the wind knocked out of you and you feel like you can’t breathe, my trainer had to talk me through a few deep breaths before I could get up. 

The damage:


I had X-rays, luckily there is no break or fractures.

I didn’t ride Patrick today, I brought him in and gave him a good brush, lots of scratches and let him graze on the way back to his paddock. I don’t know what’s going to happen with Patty, there are hundreds of reasons why a horse can be off and its up to his owner wether he gives him a few weeks off, a vet check, chiropractor etc or keeps persisting. I think that’s the bit that is really bothering me, I know that it could look like a series of unrelated incidents and it could be but I feel in my heart that somethings wrong. I know this horse, I love this horse but he’s not mine , I can’t help him and that’s what hurts.

I rode a horse that my trainers working with at her place, ironically he’s the one that put me in hospital after kicking at Patrick and getting me. While I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve fallen off I didn’t expect my confidence to be rocked as much as it was after being thrown or maybe it was just being on a different horse who knows, it wasn’t a bad ride but it didn’t feel like a good ride either.

I don’t know what the future holds but I know life just like riding after a fall you get up, dust yourself off and get back on the horse. 


 

4 thoughts on “Sometimes life sucks

  1. I’m very sorry you are in this situation. As far as Patrick is concerned I would suspect he is sore somewhere; back? Stifle? Or could it be ulcers? It is a tough one if you are not his owner. But it seems he is trying to tell his humans something. For you I’m not surprised your confidence has been shaken. That’s normal. It may take some time and certainly some quieter and less eventful rides! Positive thoughts coming from here for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is very interesting, I’d love to know more. Was Patrick not used in lessons before? Would you say the people riding him in lessons are more experienced or less experienced? Is there a friend who wouldn’t mind filming you next lesson and perhaps catching him on camera if he starts acting up? I’m wondering if it’s a behavioral or psychological response to something different, but of course I don’t know Patrick and I’m not quite sure the cause of his last buck. I love these types of problems though, happy to help in any way that I can. I’ve trained numerous horses (mostly switching jobs) and I strongly believe there is a solution here, so don’t give up hope! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

