DIY Custom Brushes 

You will need: 

  • A wooden backed grooming brush
  • Sandpaper
  • Paints
  • Varnish/sealant  

I got my brush for about $8 at Horseland but there are heaps of options on eBay for a lot less. Start by giving the brush a light going over with sand paper, to remove any varnish or sealant that will stop your paint from adhering, then give it a good wash to remove any dust and dirt. Once the brush is clean and completely dry I gave mine a base coat of white so my paint colours would look nice and bright. I chose purple as my background colour as the rest of my brushes are all purple, I find sticking to one colour helps me better identify my stuff.
Now you can choose any design you want and free hand it onto the brush but as I picked a slightly more complex design I printed mine of on printer paper and transferred the outline on. You can do this by taking a pencil and covering the back of your image with lead. Turn back to the front and place your design on the brush and pressing firmly trace the outline of your design this will transfer a light outline onto the brush. 

I painted on my design using acrilic paint and used a permanent marker for some super fine detail. Because I’m essentially a 5 year old at heart I mixed some glitter with a clear drying glue to add some sparkle! 💎💖 To finish coat the entire thing in varnish or a clear drying glue to protect your design! 

I’m super happy with how this turned out, they would make super cute gifts! 

    Leave a Reply

    