One year…

Today marks one year since I started riding again. I started riding lessons when I was 9 or 10, before that I’d only had pony rides at birthday parties. I rode until I was about 14 and then I stopped. I had a lot of reasons why I stopped but really I stopped because my anxiety got so bad. Over the years I’ve thought about going back to it but it just never happened. Fast forward to last year I had settled at uni and was looking to pick up a sport or hobby to give myself something outside of school. I thought about riding again but the idea of starting from again from scratch as an adult seemed daunting. I bought a pair of boots on a whim and started looking around for lessons. 

Hands down the best decision I’ve ever made. You know that saying that the hardest part of any journey is the first step, so true.  


It’s never to late, just because you’re an adult doesn’t mean your to old to learn something new or take up an old hobby again. It can be intimidating when there are small children that are at a higher level than you or people the same age as you that have been doing what ever it is their whole life, don’t compare your self to them, the only person you should be comparing yourself to is yourself a week ago or two weeks ago.  

“No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow you progress, you are still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.”

“It is never to late to start doing the things that you were meant to do. Do not let your mind convince you that you have missed your chance. Be guided by the compass which you were given inside your soul.” 

Leave a Reply

